My Favorite Drug Dealer…

Starbucks Gossip is an unofficial blog with the tagline, “America’s Favorite Drug Dealer”.  I won’t speak for all of America, but it is most certainly my drug dealer of choice.  Actually, it’s my only drug dealer, but that’s neither here nor there.

I’ve never really been a fan of unofficial company blogs, but I have always been a fan of coffee – Starbucks being my favorite.  When I stumbled on this blog, I was surprised by the amount of negative posts relating to the company.  It has a fairly active community of followers, which isn’t surprising, considering Starbucks is one of the most recognized brands in the world.  Granted, I have had a bad experience or 2 at Starbucks, but I’m not going to go as far as slamming it online in an unofficial blog.

My problem with these types of blogs is that people seems to be quicker to share a bad experience than a good one.  You rarely read about the time Jon Doe got excellent customer service at the Sheboigan Mall Starbucks, but as soon as he has to wait 5 minutes for an iced tea, he’s on his iPhone telling the world about it.  I challenge everybody out there who likes to share their bad experiences to share the good.  If you get so worked up about something, you feel the need to blog about it; do the same thing when you feel passionate about something.  Use emerging media and social networking fairly – good, bad and indifferent.  The only way companies can improve is to know what they’re doing right and wrong .

Leave a comment